Most Recent News

FUL Senate, Congregation elect New Internal Council Representatives at the Poll

Following the expiration of the tenure of Internal Council Members of Federal University Lokoja - four (4) from Senate and two (2) from Congregation, on October 1, 2017 and after unanimous resolutions were reached to elect new representatives, the University Senate and Congregation have elected their new representatives to Council at their various elections which were keenly contested.  

Consequently, the following members of staff have emerged to complete the tenure of the current Governing Council of the University:

New Senate Representatives in Council

  1. Professor Mathew Ola-Rotimi Ajayi - Department of Political Science
  2. Professor Patrick Amidu Audu - School of Postgraduate Studies
  3. Professor Abdullahi Emmanuel Bala - Department of Geology
  4. Dr. Francisca Onaolapo Oladipo - Department of Computer Science

New Congregation Representatives in Council

  1. Dr. Tajudeen Oladele Ahmed - Department of Physics
  2. Mallam Bashir Muhammed Umar - Bursary Department

The University Senate held its election on Wednesday, 11th April, 2018 at the Senate Chamber while Congregation had its election on Friday, 13th April, 2018 at the University Auditorium, both at Adankolo Campus of the University.

In her remark at the Congregation, the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Angela Freeman Miri congratulated the new representatives and urged them to work for the progress of the University in order to realize her dreams.  She implored them to bring their wealth of experience, gifts and talents to bear on the contributions of the Governing Council that will fast-track the development of Federal University Lokoja that we all would be proud of.

Similarly, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Makanjuola Osagbemi, in his closing remark, said the new members represent progress and would expect them to act same.  In addition, He said the voting was for progress and expressed joy over Congregation members’ determination to be progressive and readiness to move ahead.  Professor Osagbemi, whose tenure as the Deputy Vice-Chancellor came to an end on the 22nd March, 2018 but was re-appointed and ratified by Senate on Wednesday, 11th April, 2018 for another period of two (2) years based on his good performance, thanked all members of Congregation for their patience and good conduct at the poll.  He thanked the Registry Department headed by the Registrar, Mr. Usman Suleman Obansa for ensuring that the election was smooth and transparent, he also commended the efforts of the Electoral Officers, Communiqué drafting team, Public Relation Officer (P.R.O.) of the University and the Security Unit, for the roles they all played toward the success of the exercise.

Below are some pictures taken at the Congregation Meeting held on Friday, 13th April, 2018 at the University Auditorium.




Click here to view more pictures of the event.