Most Recent News

FUL Management Constitutes Standing Committee On Electrical Maintenance

As part of efforts to resolve the current electricity challenges and ensure constant power supply within the University, the Management has taken a bold step in constituting a standing Committee to look into the problems and come up with workable and lasting solutions.  The standing Committee was inaugurated on Friday, 25th May, 2018 by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Angela Freeman Miri at the Council Chambers of the University.

While inaugurating the Committee, the Vice-Chancellor expressed worries over the incessant power outages suffered by the University, and as a matter of priority, she assured the Committee that the University Management would provide relevant resources that will enable them perform the task smoothly.  Speaking further, the Vice-Chancellor expressed confidence in the ability of members of the Committee and its Chairman, Dr. Abdulhameed Salawu (Physics Department) whom she described as a selfless man who had already made personal sacrifices in trying to salvage the situation. Similarly, she thanked members of the Committee for accepting to undertake this onerous task of minimizing power outages within the University, urging them to be ready to make sacrifices and see the task as a selfless service to the University Community and humanity at large.

In his reaction, the Chairman of the Committee, who spoke on behalf of other members, assured the Management of their full commitment to this daunting but important task.  However, he enjoined members to join hands together and work as a team to enable them succeed in this huge responsibility they are saddled with.  He urged them not to compromise their integrity that would tarnish their hard-earned reputations.

Also speaking at the event, the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Director of Academic Planning, Professor Makanjuola Olayemisi Osagbemi encouraged members of the Committee to see their appointments as opportunity to prove themselves.  He congratulated them and prayed for God’s guidance in carrying out the assignment. The inauguration also witnessed the presence of other Principal Officers of the University – Mr. Usman Suleman Obansa, Registrar, Alhaji Sheihk Alhassan, Bursar and Dr. Ezra Gbaje Shiloba, University Librarian.

Other members of the Committee include: Dr. Abel Joseph, Dean of Student Affairs, Mr. Shamaki Nuhu, Deputy Registrar and Secretary to the School of Postgraduate Studies, Engr. Isyaku A. Abdullahi, Chief Engineer (Mechanical), Arc. Benson Oyifoda Godwin, Principal Architect, Engr. Kamaldeen Olowookere, Senior Engineer (Mechanical), Solomon Temitope Aloko, STO (Electrical), Mrs. Aishat A. Shuaibu, Accountant I, Mall. Shehu Abu Ali, Senior Executive Officer, and Mr. Usman Abdulkadir, Senior Assistant Registrar who doubles as the Secretary to the Committee.

The Committee is to ensure adequate maintenance of generator, electrical fittings and fixtures, armored cables and any other related works.

With the inauguration of the Committee, it is hoped that the present epileptic power supply within the University Community would soon be a thing of the past.

Members of the Committee in a group photograph with the University Management immediately after their inauguration