Most Recent News


Federal University Lokoja (FUL) has won the National Research Fund (NRF) Grant of the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) to the tune of N12,431,725.00 (Twelve Million Four Hundred and Thirty One Thousand Seven Hundred and Twenty Five Naira only).

The University and the Research Team led by the University Librarian, Ezra Shiloba Gbaje (Ph.D) had participated vigorously in the competition along with other Universities in Nigeria. Interestingly, the tenacious efforts made by the Management and the Researchers, no doubt, led to FUL emerging as one of the winners of the keenly contested Research Grant thereby leading to the award of the prize to the University by TETFund.

In a letter communicated to the University Management and addressed to the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Angela Freeman Miri recently, the Executive Secretary of TETFund, Professor Suleiman E. Bogoro noted that the Research Grant is to enable the Institution and the Researchers contribute meaningfully to Government’s desire to revive and make Research and Development as a launch pad for National Development.

Professor Bogoro, while conveying the Board of Trustees’ approval of the Research Grant to the University, said that the award of the grant was in line with the Fund’s mandate and commitment to promoting and supporting impactful research activities in public Tertiary Educational Institutions in Nigeria.

The statement reads in part: “I write to convey the approval of the Board of Trustees of the Fund for the Award of your Institution’s Research Project titled “The Narrative Impulse of Fake News in Nigeria: Study and Solutions” by Ezra Shiloba Gbaje (the Principal Researcher) for the sum of Twelve Million and Four Hundred and Thirty One Thousand Seven Hundred and Twenty Five Naira (N12,431,725.00) only being 100% of the Total Intervention Cost (TIC).”

The letter also stated the procedures and conditions for accessing the Grant, as well as the duration for the execution of the Research Project. Other Members of the Research Team include: Dr Chinyelu Agwu, Dr Dora Mbu, Dr Sarah D. Yani and Mrs Winnie Olaniru.

Congratulations to the University and Members of the Research Team!